Board of Directors

Laura Schmitt, PT, PhD

Catherine Quatman-Yates, PT, DPT, PhD
Vice President

Cara Lewis, PT, PhD

Matt Ithurburn, PT, DPT, PhD

Jeff Taylor, PT, DPT, PhD, Chair
Abstract Review Committee
(7/21 - 6/23)

Catherine Stevermer, PT, DPT, PhD, Chair
Awards Committee
(3/22 - 2/24)

Tarang Jain, PT, DPT, PhD, Chair
Communications Committee
(7/19 - 6/22)

David S. Logerstedt, PT, MPT, MA, PhD, Chair
Federal Affairs Liaison

Hina Garg, PT, MS, PhD, Chair
Membership Committee
(7/21 - 6/23)

Amy Wagner, PT, DPT, Chair
Program Committee
(7/18 - 6/22)

Evan Papa, PT, DPT, PhD, Chair
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
(7/21 - 6/23)

Section Delegates:  Meghan Warren, PT, PhD and Evan Papa, PT, DPT, PhD

How the Academy Works

The APTA Academy of Physical Therapy Research is governed by an elected Board of Directors. Directors are available to discuss issues affecting the Academy and the physical therapy profession. In addition to the Board of Directors, Academy members participate in committee, task force and Special Interest Group activities. The actions taken by the Board, committees, task forces and SIGs are member-directed.

The Academy President is responsible for governing and directing Academy activities and the Board of Directors is guided by the strategic plan. The Academy Delegate participates in the APTA House of Delegates each year, which is the highest decision-making body of the Association, and makes decisions on issues that frequently have far-reaching implications for the Association, the Academy and the profession. To reach the president, delegate or other Academy officers, please contact the Academy office at [email protected].

Get Involved! Contact us to become involved in Academy activities and committees. Your participation is essential to the strength of the Academy.